Eindhoven (NL) * 2016 * Van Abbemuseum * 5 weeks

On invitation of the Vanabbemuseum WochenKlausur has been part of the exhibition Arte Util. Therefore the group created and realized a new Artist in Residence Program for the Museum and the local Centre for Psychiatric Health GGzE.


As with every other WochenKlausur project too the project started with an intense research conducted from Vienna and over a 2-week long on-site visit. All in all over 70 organizations were contacted and invited for a talk. According to the research results the following project was designed and implemented:
Increasing numbers of psychiatric diseases and their causes have become a matter of public debate but until today are mentally ill people strongly stigmatized partly because of a problematic history of treatment. Over the last years psychiatry has developed a new understanding how to face their challenges and now focus more on interdisciplinary cooperation.

To support this trend WochenKlausur decided to create a new Artist in Residence Program together with the Van Abbemuseum and a huge local centre for psychiatric health, the GGzE:
Artists who are not incorporated in the hierarchy and rules of the health system should use their outsider position to identify deficiencies and develop strategies to reduce prejudice and thereby improve the situation for patients and relatives.

Once a year an open call will be announced for artists and collectives coming from the field of socially engaged, participatory or community art, art & science, social design or other related fields. The implementation includes two phases:

Research -
The participant appointed by a jury gets the opportunity to spend a couple of days at the GGzE to get to know the facility, to talk with concerned patients and to review and substantiate the project idea.

Residency -
The chosen artist or collective can use a studio on the GGzE premises for a period of two months. The project will be realized in close cooperation with a GGzE team that includes patients, staff and relatives. The Vanabbemuseum accompanies the artist and the project in all curatorial matters and organizes a final presentation of the realized work.
The Gerrit Rietveld Academy in Amsterdam as well as the Fontys University of Applied Siencies in Eindhoven agreed to become official partners of the program supporting each participant with knowhow, facilities and resources.

Funding -
In order to create best possible conditions it was one of the most important tasks for WochenKlausur to provide a fair payment for the participant. It was possible to provide each Artist in Residence with an on-site studio, accommodation, a grant of Euro 7.000,- as well as a production budget of Euro 5.000,- plus travel costs up to Euros 2.000,-.

The first Residency will take place in autumn 2017. Artists can apply until January 15th, 2017. See further details here:
https://vanabbemuseum.nl/en/research/artist-in-residence-programme/artistic-strategies-in-psychiatry/

Johannes Franz, Christine van Meegen, Manfred Rainer, Denizhan Sezer

Eindhoven (NL) * 2016 * Van Abbemuseum * 5 Wochen

Auf Einladung des Van Abbemuseums, sich mit einem Projekt an der Ausstellung Arte Util zu beteiligen, hat die WochenKlausur ein neues Artist in Residence Programm für das Museum und das Zentrum für psychische Gesundheit - GGzE konzipiert und realisiert.


Wie jedes WochenKlausur-Projekt startete die Gruppe auch in Eindhoven eine intensive Recherche bereits im Vorfeld von Wien aus und während eines 2-wöchigen Aufenthalts vor Ort. Dabei wurden über 70 lokale Organisationen kontaktiert und zu Gesprächen eingeladen. Für folgendes Problemfeld konnte schließlich ein Projekt entworfen und umgesetzt werden:
Die deutlichen Zunahme psychischer Erkrankungen sowie deren Ursachen rücken vermehrt in das öffentliche Blickfeld. Nicht zuletzt aufgrund der problematischen Geschichte der psychiatrischen Behandlung sind psychische Erkrankungen immer noch stark stigmatisiert. Allerdings hat die Psychiatrie in den letzten Jahren ein neues Verständnis entwickelt, um den aktuellen Herausforderungen zu begegnen setzt sie zunehmend auf interdisziplinäre Kooperation.

Um diese Tendenz zu unterstützen, hat die WochenKlausur folgendes Artist in Residence Programm entworfen und mit dem Van Abbemuseum und dem Zentrum für psychische Gesundheit - GGzE verhandelt:
Kunstschaffende sollen, da sie nicht in die Hierarchien und Regelungen des Gesundheitssystem eingebunden sind, mit dem Blick von aussen auf Probleme oder Defizite reagieren und künstlerischen Strategien entwickeln, um gesellschaftliche Ressentiments gegenüber psychischen Erkrankungen abzubauen oder die Situation für Betroffene und deren Angehörige zu verbessern.

Einmal im Jahr wird ein Open Call ausgeschrieben auf den sich KünstlerInnen oder Künstlergruppen aus den Bereichen Socially Engaged Art, Partizipative Kunst, Community Art, Art & Science, Social Design oder verwandter Felder bewerben können. Die Umsetzung erfolgt schließlich in folgenden zwei Phasen:

Research -
Die von einer Jury ausgewählten TeilnehmerInnen bekommen die Möglichkeit, im Rahmen eines mehrtägigen Aufenthaltes das GGzE kennenzulernen, mit Betroffenen zu sprechen, ihre eingereichten Projektideen zu überprüfen und zu konkretisieren.

Residency -
Während des zweimonatigen Aufenthaltes steht den Artists in Residence ein Atelier am Gelände des GGzE zur Verfügung. Im regen Austausch mit einem GGzE-Team in dem auch KlientInnen vertreten sind, realisieren sie ihre Projekte. Das Van Abbemuseum betreut sie kuratorisch und organisiert am Ende der Residency eine Präsentation der entstandenen Arbeit.
Als zusätzliche akademische Partner konnte die WochenKlausur die Gerrit Rietveld Akademie in Amsterdam sowie die Fontys Hochschule Eindhoven gewinnen, die mit ihrem Knowhow und ihren Ressourcen bei der Realisierung der Projekte helfen.

Rahmenbedingungen:
Um bestmögliche Rahmenbedingungen zu schaffen, hat die WochenKlausur besonderes Augenmerk auf eine faire Finanzierung gelegt: Den Artists in Residence stehen nicht nur Atelier und Wohnung zur Verfügung sondern auch ein Stipendium in der Höhe von € 7.000,- und ein Produktionsbudget bis zu € 5.000,-. Reisekosten sind bis maximal € 2.000,- gedeckt.

Die erste Residency findet im Herbst 2017 statt. KünstlerInnen können sich dafür bis 15.01.2017 bewerben.
Details (in englischer Sprache) unter:
https://vanabbemuseum.nl/en/research/artist-in-residence-programme/artistic-strategies-in-psychiatry/

Johannes Franz, Christine van Meegen, Manfred Rainer, Denizhan Sezer